[ATMoB-discuss] comcast is blocking the lists again

Steve Moshier steve at moshier.net
Thu Jul 6 13:20:20 CEST 2006


Just this morning, Comcast bounced an e-mail message that I sent to
a friend.  Here are Comcast's instructions for getting off their
blacklist.  I think this means your fan mail needs to tell Comcast
the address of the SMTP server at ATMOB's internet service provider?
Or maybe it is the IP quoted in their message, as in 217.160.230.41?
My ISP happens to have an address block at 217.160, but they could
have hundreds of mail servers, so I don't see how picking one of them
would help Comcast.

  SMTP error from remote server after MAIL command:
  host gateway-a.comcast.net[63.240.76.26]:
  550-217.160.230.41 blocked by ldap:ou=rblmx,dc=comcast,dc=net
  550 Blocked for abuse. Please send blacklist removal requests to       blacklist_comcastnet at cable.comcast.com - Be sure to include your mail   server IP ADDRESS.




>On 5 Jul 2006 at 11:53, Brewster wrote:
>
>> Just to make you aware comcast is once again blocking emails sent from
>> the clubs' server.  We keep asking them to stop doing that and they
>> keep ignoring us...their anti-spam system is out of control.
>> 
>> Will post again once it seems to be working (but expect it to close
>> down again in a week, if past performance is any indication).
> 
>Seems to me you need to post something when about this when you CAN 
>get through, letting all the Comcast customers know what their ISP is 
>doing and urging them to protest.  Comcast will notice if enough of 
>their own customers complain.
>
>-- 
>A. Joseph Ross, J.D.                           617.367.0468
> 15 Court Square, Suite 210                 Fax 617.742.7581
>Boston, MA 02108-2503           	         http://www.attorneyross.com
>
>
>_______________________________________________
>ATMoB-discuss mailing list
>ATMoB-discuss at atmob.org
>http://lists.atmob.org/mailman/listinfo/atmob-discuss


More information about the Atmob-discuss mailing list